top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTony McKenzie

One giant learning curve for humanity?

Updated: Jan 19, 2020


If, as this blog takes on a life of its own, you scan the content, I think you may find something of interest (a) if you are an educator, or (b) if you have a personal interest in 'life, the universe, everything', as Douglas Adams (2003) itemised the stuff of the cosmos: if, that is, you agree with Ingrid Stefanovic (2013, p. 17) that 'to be human is to naturally reflect upon philosophical questions’.

The name of this blog came to me while ruminating on the problem of naming something before it has come into being. It doffs its hat to Neil Armstrong's famous one liner. As Armstrong became the first human being to step onto the moon, he said, 'That's one small step for a man, a giant leap for mankind.'

For me, 'One giant learning curve for humanity' exudes some of the gravitas of Armstrong's one liner; perhaps, like Armstrong's statement, it conveys a belief in the view that something significant is or could be happening around us. It also appeals to me, as a hermeneutic meaning maker, in that it falls into the category of comprehensive claims - not that the composition of such a fundamental learning curve could ever be agreed on, but rather, that entry into discussion about such a question could deepen our understanding of things that matter.

In that context, I was delighted when Bryn Jones gave me permission to use his artwork, Lavendar Fields, on the banner of this blog. I hope that visitors over time will detect overtones from these blog writings in Bryn's imagery, and vice versa.

I have a sense that somehow there needs to be a facility allowing readers to comment on my ruminations. If you have any suggestions on how to make this possible, drop me a line at adrmcke@gmail.com.

Tony

References

Adams, D. (2003). The hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy : the original radio scripts (25 ed.). London: Pan.

Stefanovic, I. (2013). Philosophy as lived. Holistic Science Journal, 2(2), 17-18. Retrieved from http://holisticsciencejournal.co.uk.


12 views0 comments
bottom of page